A Code of Ethics to Protect Autistic Bloggers?

Just a question that has floated in my mind, a question that came from the need of many autistic bloggers to protect their privacy and anonymity.

We don’t naturally collaborate well or have a sense of cohesion as the non-autistic seem to form so I would really like some input/feedback .

In the light of the recent discord within the autistic Twitter community I realised that even if individual autistic bloggers gave permission for their blogs to be recommended reading for non-autistics working in the field of autism there remains a further problem:

the problem is this: what happens to the privacy and anonymity of those who submitted comments to posts?

Another problem is that our autistic space could be jeopardised by infiltration/ invasion by non-autistic agendas.

Anyone else concerned about this?

I know it took me a lot of perseverance to find the autistic community I needed  to contact and I appreciate how hard all those years stranded alone before I tried  Twitter ( still have only very basic ability) and then to try  to use WordPress ( with the help of others) . I really value this community I worked hard and long to find , I’m not sure that those who have entry presented to them on a platter would have the same respect.

Some of us, in fact many of us,  for a variety of reasons use nom de plumes  to preserve our anonymity thus enabling us to discuss  issues that may be sensitive.

Any constructive thoughts appreciated.

A Code of Ethics to protect Autistic bloggers?

Would/could it work?

Access selective or carte blanche  presented to non-autistics?

 

I acknowledge that I may be a bit too idealistic  but better to bring up the topic than ignore it and even worse to endorse a potentially divisive and dangerous action.

Author: privatepersonblog

Late Diagnosed Autistic looking thru' kaleidescope of life.

7 thoughts on “A Code of Ethics to Protect Autistic Bloggers?”

  1. Personally (and this is just me), I’m ok with anyone (with good intentions) sharing or referencing anything that I’ve published publicly. I figure that I’ve put it out there for the world to see, and that was my voluntary choice. I do choose to remain anonymous because I’m not fully “out” as being on the spectrum, in my professional life, and my name (which isn’t very common) gets searched a lot, often by people who may mistake my spectrum status for incompetence (my region lags behind in its view of autism spectrum conditions). So while I share my experiences of living life on the spectrum, it’s important to me that I remain anonymous for now. Some people do know my real name and occupation, but those are very few, and I appreciate their keeping my identity in confidence.

    I’m perfectly happy with people quoting me as The Silent Wave publicly, though, and I’m honored to be included on any directories or lists and whatnot.

    That’s just me, though; I understand that others may feel differently 😊

    A code of ethics would probably be beneficial, chiefly so that everyone is on the same page. The specifics might vary from person to person, and that’s probably unavoidable ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thanks for that! The Ethics idea is fraught with difficulties but could be beneficial if only in broad guidelines.

    What do you think about the issue of respondents to a post and their privacy?

    I guess it is possible to make the post itself available in hard copy and exclude the comments as a means of overcoming the privacy anomaly.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep, I think that would be beneficial. I’m all about anonymizing the comments; they’re murkier ethical waters. In actuality, they, too, put their comments out there in public, which will be seen as well (unless it’s a private blog, which is a whole other issue), but again, it’s a bit less clear cut, since it’s not the commenter’s blog 😊

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I’m not on Twitter, so I don’t know anything about the problem you mention. I’m also not a community-type person, so I probably have a very different perspective from yours. But the fact is that blogs are public, unless you make them private. Comments are also public, and it’s up to the commenters to take that into account. I don’t understand what you mean by a code of ethics. For whom? Readers and commenters certainly aren’t going to be bound by someone’s statement of how they should behave. And I wonder if there isn’t a certain amount of paranoia involved in wanting to set up such a code. How much of a problem has there actually been? Every blogger has the right to remove obnoxious comments. I don’t know if WP specifically allows you to block commenters, but you can mark them as spam and they won’t show up after that.

    It wouldn’t be fair just to claim that my blog hasn’t had any problems, since it’s quite new and doesn’t have a lot of readers yet. But since my point of view is often one that many on the spectrum will find objectionable, that’s a possibility. If it happens, I’ll deal with it. My experience of autism makes me an outsider even in the “community” that I’m supposedly a member of, and that’s where my posts come from. If someone doesn’t like it, that’s their right. And they also have the right to say so as long as they’re polite and rational. If they aren’t, I have the tools to silence them. I don’t need a code of ethics.

    Like

    1. Thanks Catana! My concerns arose after a particularly aggressive attack on another blogger regarding not getting permission to post certain information and assumptions. Not going into that here and now.

      I am relatively new to blogging and Twitter and am extremely clumsy with technological processes and etiquette so I may have upon a degree of paranoia but also on the need to question the status of privacy and online activity. Call me ignorant and I’ll be the first to admit to ignorance regarding technology and that is precisely why I posted that piece.

      I am really grateful for your response and agree with your stance… I haven’t as of yet found the technological means to ” silence”
      and I do possess a degree of panic experimenting and not knowing the outcome… once something is ‘ out there’ I am left with the mess I’ve unwittingly created.

      Your last paragraph is pertinent and I too am an “outsider” within the online community due to both age and personal experience of autism. I have my own internal code of ethics and think about the ramifications of actions and words upon not only myself but the broader audience. Strongly support that others have the right to free speech and demonstrate polite and rational arguments and respect the rights of others.

      Thanks Catana and I wish you well with your newly established blog.

      Like

Leave a Reply

